Posted by: aoifelove | September 20, 2020

Third Week of School!

Dear Seventh Grade Parents and Students,
THANK YOU to all the parents who attended our virtual Classroom Orientation last Thursday.   If you were unable to attend, please make to read the overview of my classes, which I sent home to you via your child.
This past week, my Seventh Graders continued to read Beowulf  by Robert Nye, which they are enjoying.  They also finished Lesson 1 in Wordly Wise, so they know my expectations regarding their weekly homework and the importance of neat work.  In addition to this, they took copious notes.  I am very happy to report that my Seventh Graders scored high on their first spelling and vocabulary test, on Thursday.  I am so proud of them!  Great job, Seventh Graders!  They also viewed the first installment of Inkheart by Cornelia Funke, which they love.
Next week, my Seventh Graders will continue to read Beowulf, as he faces the monster, She.  On Monday, I will read aloud examples of myths and legends, in preparation for their first writing assignment.  In addition to this, my students will commence their Poetry Unit with Alfred Lord Tennyson’s poem, “The Lady of Shalott.”  They will also review the M.L.A. editing style.  They will also work in their paragraph editing workbooks.  The school laptops are up and running, so they will start in-class writing on them.  On Friday, they will watch the second installment of Inkheart.
The first writing assignment “Write a Myth or a Legend” is due Thursday, October 1.  I will distribute the guidelines for it on Tuesday, September 22.
My Seventh Graders have finished reading Chapter 1 of their history book, so they will have a History Test on Thursday, October 1.  This week, they will review for the test and commence reading Chapter 2 of the history book.
The following is the homework for this coming week:
  • Spelling/vocabulary test of Lesson 2 in Wordly Wise on Thursday.
  • Complete all the exercises of Lesson 2 of Wordly Wise, for Thursday.
  • Study for your History Test, On Thursday, October 1.
  • The assignment “Write a Myth or Legend” is due on Thursday, October 1.
“A little knowledge that acts is worth infinitely more than much knowledge that is idle.” ~ Khalil Gibran
Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a GRAND week ahead!
Sincerely,
Miss Susan 🙂

Categories