Posted by: aoifelove | March 18, 2017

Parent/Teacher Conferences!

Dear Sixth Grade Parents and Students,

CONGRATULATIONS and THANK YOU to all my Sixth Graders who ran or walked in the Jog-A-Thon, on Friday.  GREAT JOB!  I am so PROUD of you!  THANK YOU to all the parents who attended to help and support our students during the Jog-A-Thon. 🙂

This week in literature, my Sixth Graders will listen to several Fairy Tales, as they learn the essence of Fairy Tales.  They will work on writing their “Children’s Book.”  They will also revisit “Proverbs” and “Literary Terms.”  In addition to this, they will review grammar, punctuation, and cursive.  On Friday, they will watch Jane Eyre by Emily Brontë, for Literature on DVD.

Mr. Joel on Skype:  On Friday, Joel went into great detail about the importance of a great “Climax” to a story.  His advice is WONDERFUL!  GREAT JOB, JOEL! 🙂

During Drama Class, my Sixth Graders are making great progress in reading The Tempest by William Shakespeare.  We might finish reading it this week.

The homework for this week is as follows:

  • The rewrites of your Stage Plays are due on Monday, March 20, unless you were late in turning it in to me.
  • Study for your Literary Terms Test, on Thursday, March 24. I am giving you an extra day to study for this test.
  • Work on your Children’s Book.
  • Complete Joel’s work for Friday.

Reminders:

  • Another “Book Fair” starts on Monday, March 20.
  • Parent/Teacher Conferences are scheduled for Thursday, March 23, and Friday, March 24.  Therefore, there will be half-days for our students on both Thursday and Friday.  I look forward to meeting with you again.

Tell me and I’ll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I’ll understand. ~ Chinese Proverb

Enjoy your weekend and have a grand week ahead.

Sincerely,

Miss Susan 🙂

Categories