Posted by: aoifelove | December 10, 2016

Merry Christmas!

Dear Eighth Grade Parents and Students,

‘Tis the season to be jolly!  Fa! La! La! La! La!…La! La! La! La!

Last week in Literature, my Eighth Graders continued to read Night by Elie Wiesel.  They also worked on writing Career 2, for their Career Projects.  In addition to this, they returned to Literary Terms, paragraph editing, and reviewed Pronouns and Prepositions, then, played the Grammar Game.

There is much excitement in the air with the approaching Christmas vacation and holidays.  Therefore, this week will be very different from our usual class routine. There will be no Wordly Wise homework until after Christmas, as I want my Eighth Graders to use our limited class time (Monday to Wednesday), to work on their Career Projects.  This week, they will learn how to complete a job application. In addition to this, we will finish reading Night by Elie Wiesel.

The Middle School children have asked for a Secret Santa gift exchange.  This is not mandatory!  However, my Eighth Graders have all declared that they want to participate.  I have advised them to buy the gifts with their own money, rather than ask their parents to purchase them.  Then, they are truly giving! 🙂

On Thursday, December 15, we have a Field Trip to see “A Snow White Christmas,” at the Lyceum Theatre, in San Diego.  Buses will be provided to take us there and return us to the school. There is no entrance fee.

On Friday, my Eighth Graders will meet in my classroom for the Secret Santa exchange.  Then, all the Middle School children will join together for a Christmas celebration, encompassing  Mrs. Coogan’s and my classroom.  Then, at 10:00a.m. we will go to UTC in La Jolla, for ice-skating.  The field trip will end at 2:00p.m.  It promises to be a fun-filled day! 🙂

Reminders:

  • The Christmas Program for the Middle School is scheduled for Tuesday, December 13, at 2:00p.m., in the Amphitheater.  I look forward to seeing you there.
  • Each student is asked to bring a gift for their Secret Santa gift exchange, on Friday ($10 – $15 in value).
  • Field Trip…on Thursday, to the Lyceum Theatre.
  • Field Trip…on Friday, to UTC, in La Jolla.
  • There will be no homework for the Christmas break.

Happy, happy Christmas, that can win us back to the delusions of our childhood days, recall to the old man the pleasures of his youth, and transport the traveler back to his own fireside and quiet home!

~ Charles Dickens

Dear Parents,

     I wish all my Eighth Grade families A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS and A HAPPY NEW YEAR!  You deserve a wonderful holiday. Relax!  Enjoy!  Have lots of fun with your children!  I have enjoyed working with your children this past semester.  Please keep my students safe this Christmas, as they are VERY PRECIOUS to me! My love to all of you this Christmas Holiday Season.♥

Cheers,

Miss Susan 🙂

Categories