Posted by: aoifelove | November 12, 2016

Parent/Teacher Conferences!

Dear Seventh Grade Parents and Students,

I hope that you all enjoyed your Veterans’ Day!  THANK YOU to our brave Veterans for your service to your/our country.  You are our heroes!

This past week in literature, my Seventh Graders continued reading Inside the Walls of Troy by Clemence McLaren.  They also studied more Literary Terms. In addition to this, they received the guidelines for their next project, “Write a Screenplay.”  I went over these guidelines in detail. I taught my students the various camera angles/shots that are used in writing a screenplay: close-up, medium shot, long shot, tilt, pan shot, and aerial shot.  It is important to know these camera angles/shots, as it is the camera that tells the story in a screenplay.  I also explained a SLUG LINE.  It was a short week, and it went by fast.

This week, my Seventh Graders will continue to read Inside the Walls of Troy by Clemence McLaren.  They will also prepare for the Literary Terms Test, which will be given on Thursday, November 17, (therefore, no Wordly Wise homework for this week).  In addition to this, I will explain more about SLUG LINES, and I will show my students how to write a short screenplay in class, in order to learn the correct format.  The in-class screenplay is titled Say “No” To Drugs.  It will teach my students that taking street drugs can lead to trouble, illness, and even death.

This week, in Drama Class, I intend to finish the auditions for A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare.  I hope to have the play fully cast by Friday, November 18.

Reminder:  Parent/Teacher Conferences are scheduled for Thursday, November 17 and Friday, November 18.  I look forward to meeting with you.

The homework for this week is as follows:

  • Study for the Literary Terms Test, on Thursday, November 17.
  • Some students need to submit their colored drawings for the Beowulf poetry and the Beowulf outlines.  They are now past due.
  • Work on the plot for your screenplay.

One important key to success is self-confidence.  An important key to self-confidence is preparation. ~ Arthur Ashe

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a grand week ahead.

Sincerely,

Miss Susan 🙂

Categories