Posted by: aoifelove | October 16, 2016

Excitement Regarding Scripts!

Dear Seventh Grade Parents and Students,

We are still waiting on our next book order to arrive.  In the meantime, my Seventh Graders will read and study their Poetry Unit.  Last week, we read and analyzed Parts I, II, and III of “The Lady of Shalott” by Alfred Lord Tennyson.  We will finish reading it during this coming week.  In addition to this,  I will read aloud Hamlet by William Shakespeare.  When I am finished reading it, we will discuss the story, and there will be a follow up quiz to reinforce the setting, plot, themes, symbolism, and characters, during the following week.  I will go over the quiz in class first, before I give it to my students.

My Seventh Graders had their first Literary Terms Test last Thursday.  Unfortunately, nine students admitted that they did not study for the test.  As this was the first Literary Terms Test, I will allow a retake of it, on Friday.  Please encourage your child to study for this test.  There will be no more retakes after this one.  This week, we will also return to our study of Literary Terms, and we will continue our daily work in the classroom workbooks.

Last week, during Drama class, my Seventh Graders received their scripts for A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare, so there was great excitement!  This week, I will begin the auditions for the play.  The Seventh Graders will give me three choices of characters that they would like to play in our performance.  Hopefully, I will be able to give them one of their choices.  In addition to this, my Seventh Graders will continue to work on their skits for our next monthly Assembly.

The following is the homework for this coming week:

  • The “Heroic Poems” are due on Thursday, October 20.
  • Spelling/vocabulary test of Lesson 5 in Wordly Wise, on Thursday.
  • Complete all the exercises in Lesson 5 of Wordly Wise, for Thursday.
  • Study for the “retake” of the Literary Terms Test 1, for Friday, October 20.

Children have more need of models than of critics.  ~ Joseph Joubert

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a grand week ahead!

Sincerely,

Miss Susan 🙂

Categories