Posted by: aoifelove | September 16, 2016

Student Council Campaign Week!

Dear Seventh Grade Parents and Students,
THANK YOU to all the parents who attended our Classroom Orientation last Thursday.  We had a great turnout.  It was lovely to meet with you again.  If you were unable to attend, please make sure to request an overview of my classes, and I will send it home to you via your child.  It is also posted on this blog site.
This past week, my Seventh Graders continued to read Beowulf  by Robert Nye, which they are enjoying.  They also finished Lesson 1 in Wordly Wise, so they know my expectations regarding their weekly homework. In addition to this, they commenced the study of Literary Terms, and wrote in their journals.  I am very happy to report that my Seventh Graders scored very high on their first spelling/vocabulary test, on Thursday.  I am so proud of them!  Today, I added a punctuation/paragraph editing workbook to their classroom routine.  Then, they watched the first installment of Emma by Jane Austen.
Next week, my Seventh Graders will continue to read Beowulf, as he faces the monster, Grendel.  On Monday, I will read aloud examples of myths and legends.  In addition to this, my students will continue the study of Literary Terms.  They will also work in their paragraph editing workbooks.  The school laptops will be available next week, so they will commence in-class writing on them.  On Friday, they will watch the next installment of Austen’s Emma.
The first writing assignment “Write a Myth or a Legend” will be due on Friday, September 25.  I am giving an extra day to complete this first writing assignment.  I have distributed detailed guidelines for this work.
This past week in Drama class, my Seventh Graders worked on their skits for the Assembly, which they will host in November.  A fun time was had by all.
Reminders:
  • The Student Council campaign Week begins on Monday, September 19.  Middle School students may run for the following positions: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Class Representative.
  • The Middle School Dance is scheduled to take place in the library, on Friday, September 23, from 6:00p.m. – 8:30p.m.
  • Jupiter Grades:  I will post your children’s grades on Jupiter Grades, as soon as I complete my training.
The following is the homework for this coming week:
  • Spelling/vocabulary test of Lesson 2 in Wordly Wise on Thursday.
  • Complete all the exercises of Lesson 2 of Wordly Wise.
  • The assignment “Write a Myth or Legend” is due on Friday.
  • Review the Literary Terms.
A little knowledge that acts is worth infinitely more than much knowledge that is idle.  ~ Khalil Gibran
Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a GRAND week ahead!
Sincerely,
Miss Susan♥
Categories