Posted by: aoifelove | September 16, 2016

Student Council Campaign Week!

Dear Eighth Grade Parents and Students,
THANK YOU to all the parents who attended our Classroom Orientation on Thursday afternoon.  We had a great turnout.  It was lovely to meet with you again.  If you were unable to attend, please make sure to request the overview of my classes from me, or I can send it home to you, via your child.  It is also on this blog site.
I am very happy to report that my Eighth Graders scored extremely high on their first spelling/vocabulary test today.  Great job, Eighth Graders!  Keep up the good work!  They also completed Lesson 1 in Wordly Wise, so they know my expectations regarding future homework.  They continued to read Animal Farm by George Orwell, and to explore the allegory, which they are enjoying.  They also wrote in their journals, and began their study of Literary Terms.  In addition to this, they watched Episode 1 of the BBC’s version of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, which we will use to practice writing summaries.  The focus for these summaries will be: main ideas, themes, characters, conflict, etc.
This coming week, my Eighth Graders will continue to read Animal Farm.  I will introduce a punctuation/paragraph editing book on Monday, September 19.  They will continue their study of Literary Terms.  The school laptops will be available next week, so they will commence in-class writing on them.  In addition to this, I will distribute notes on the Cornell Note-Taking System.  On Thursday, They will watch Episode II of Pride and Prejudice.
This past week in Drama class, my Eighth Graders worked on their skit for the Assembly, which they will host in October.  A good time was had by all.
Reminders:
  • The Student Council Campaign Week begins on Monday, September 19.  Middle School students may run for the following positions: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Class Representative.
  • The Middle School Dance is scheduled to take place in the library, on Friday, September 23, from 6:00p.m. to 8:30p.m. 
  • Jupiter Grades: I will post your children’s grades on Jupiter Grades, as soon as I finish my training.
The following is the homework for this coming week:
  • Spelling/vocabulary test of Lesson 2 in Wordly Wise, on Friday.
  • Complete all the exercises in Lesson 2 of Wordly Wise.
  • Write a summary of Pride and Prejudice …Episode I
  • Review the Literary Terms.
The essence of learning is the ability to manage change by changing yourself.  ~ A. De Gues
Enjoy your weekend and have a GRAND week ahead!
Sincerely,
Miss Susan♥
Categories