Posted by: aoifelove | September 10, 2016

Great Start, 6th Graders!

Dear Sixth Grade Parents and Students,

This past week was a short one with my Sixth Grade class, as we started on Tuesday, and we had an assembly on Friday, during my time with them.  However, they have settled back quickly into their school routine.  I am impressed!

On Wednesday, my Sixth Graders commenced reading Skellig by David Almond, which they are enjoying.  We also began Lesson 1 of Wordly Wise.  I always complete the first lesson of Wordly Wise in class with my students, in order to clarify my expectations for their future homework in this workbook.  In addition to this, my students also started their first journal entry:  “All About Me.”

This coming week, we will continue to read Skellig.  Then, we will finish Sections D and E in Wordly Wise.  In addition to this, I will read many of Aesop’s Fables aloud, in preparation for their first creative writing assignment, Write a Fable, which will be due on Wednesday, September 21.  I will distribute the guidelines for this assignment on Tuesday, September 13, which I will discuss in great detail.  If time permits, we will also begin our study of Literary Terms, which I distributed last Thursday.

My Sixth Graders had a blast during their first drama classes, last Tuesday and Thursday.  I was very pleased with their participation.  They learned about expressing different emotions and states of being, using their faces, hand gestures, and leg movements.  They also made up skits, which were hilarious!  I divided them into teams for the skits.  I introduced them to movement and dance on Thursday, and they were great.  This week, they will watch the movie  A Christmas Carol during their drama classes.  Then, they will receive their scripts for auditions.

The following is the homework for this coming week:

  • Study for the spelling and vocabulary test of Lesson 1 in Wordly Wise, for Wednesday, September 14.

Reminder:

Classroom Orientation will take place on Thursday, September 15, at 3:30p.m. -4:30p.m.  I look forward to meeting with you.

If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to come and talk to me, either before or after school hours.  If this does not suit your schedule, you can send an email to me at:

susan.mcguirk@ecdschools.org

I anticipate a happy and productive school year with your children.

All our dreams come true – if we have the courage to pursue them.

~ Walt Disney

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, and have a GRAND week ahead.

Sincerely,

Miss Susan

Categories