Posted by: aoifelove | September 10, 2016

A Great Start, 7th Graders!

Dear Seventh Grade Parents and Students,

I am happy to report that the Seventh Graders have settled in nicely into Middle School.  I am impressed!  I look forward to a happy and productive school year with them.

On Wednesday, my Seventh Graders commenced their reading of Beowulf by Robert Nye (a narration of the oldest epic poem in the English language).  They also started Lesson 1 in Wordly Wise.  I always complete the first lesson in class with my students, in order to clarify my expectations for their future homework in this workbook.  In addition to this, they started their first journal entry: “All About Me.”

This coming week, my Seventh Graders will continue to read Beowulf, finish Lesson 1 in Wordly Wise, and complete their journal entries.  I will read aloud examples of myths and legends to them, in preparation for their first writing assignment, Write a Myth or Legend, which will be due on Thursday, September 22.  If time permits, they will begin their study of Literary terms, which I distributed to them last Thursday.

My Seventh Graders appeared to have enjoyed their first drama classes last Tuesday and Thursday.  There was lots of laughter!  I was very pleased with their participation.  They learned about expressing emotions and states of being, using their faces, hand gestures, and leg movements.  They also made skits in teams of five or six, which were great!  I introduced them to movement and dance during Thursday’s class, and they were amazing.  This week, they will work on a skit for November’s assembly, which they will host.

The following is the homework for this coming week:

  • Study for the spelling/vocabulary test of Lesson 1 in Wordly Wise, on Thursday, September 15.

Reminder:

Classroom Orientation will take place on Thursday, September 15, at 3:30p.m.-4:30p.m.  I look forward to meeting with you.

If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to come and share them with me, either before or after school.  If this does not suit your schedule, you can send an email to me at:

susan.mcguirk@ecdschools.org

Books are the bees which carry the quickening pollen from one to another mind. ~ James Russell Lowell (American poet and editor)

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, and have a GRAND week ahead.

Sincerely,

Miss Susan

Categories