Posted by: aoifelove | January 9, 2016

Happy New Year!

Dear Sixth Grade Parents and Students,

Happy New Year!  I hope that this new year will bring you all much love, happiness, smiles, laughter, success, good health, and surprises on a daily basis.  I trust that you all had a wonderful Christmas with your families. Your children returned to school happy and rested.  They definitely enjoyed their Christmas break, as per “Share Time” last Monday. We have just begun a new year in the education of your children. We have a lot of new and exciting work to study, learn, research, ponder, explore, and discuss before June, 2016.

THANK YOU once again for all the great gifts that you showered upon me and my co-workers for Christmas.  We are indeed blessed to have such thoughtful and generous parents.  A very special THANK YOU to my homeroom Mom, Laura Visco, Michelle Acosta, Mary Rudick, Cheri Bell and their team of parents who helped with the gingerbread houses.  THANK YOU also to all my parents who donated food and Christmas gifts for our adopted family.  I appreciate your generous hearts.

This past week in literature, the Sixth Graders read about “Sisypus,” “The Giants’ Rebellion” and also began “Jason and the Golden Fleece.”  This coming week, they will finish reading “Jason and the Golden Fleece” and “Alcestis.”  In class, they worked in their analogies, grammar, and note-taking workbooks. This week, they will write a short Stage Play with me, in preparation for their next writing assignment, “Write a Stage Play.” I will distribute the guidelines for this assignment this coming week.  In addition to this, we will return to our study of Literary Terms.  For “Literature on DVD,” my Sixth Graders started to watch Jason and the Argonauts, and they will continue to watch it for the next three weeks, on Thursdays.

This past week in history, my Sixth Graders continued to read and learn about the history of Ancient Egypt, and I shared with them some of my great and strange experiences while in Egypt.  In addition to this, they watched a documentary about Egypt, and they will watch more this coming week, when we finish reading Chapter 4.  This chapter is very long, therefore, the test will be given in two parts.  History Test – Part 1 (Sections 1-3) will be given on Thursday, January 22.  Please encourage your child to study for this test.  Many thanks!

Please Note:

  • I have changed the “Homework Due Day” for my Sixth Graders from Thursday to Wednesday, as on Thursdays, it takes me four to five hours  hours, after school, to correct, grade, record, on Sycamore and in my grade book, and then, file the spelling/vocabulary tests for both the Sixth and Seventh Graders’ homework.  Hence, homework will be due on Wednesdays for my Sixth Graders.
  • Many of our parents from all of our Middle School classes are having difficulty logging on to the Sycamore Portal, for our classroom information.  Hence, I chose to continue with Word Press for another week.  We, Middle School teachers, hope to solve this problem this coming week. 

The homework for this coming week is as follows:

  • Spelling/vocabulary test of Lesson 10 in Wordly Wise for Wednesday.
  • Complete all the exercises in Lesson 10 of Wordly Wise for Wednesday.
  • Write up your history notes, if you haven’t done so already.
  • Study three or four history definitions and questions per night, in preparation for the next History Test.
  • Think about your plot/story for your Stage Play.

Write it on your heart that every day is the best day of the year.  

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a grand week ahead.

Cheers,

Miss Susan 🙂

Categories