Posted by: aoifelove | December 12, 2015

Merry Christmas!

Dear Seventh Grade Parents and Students,

‘Tis the season to be jolly!  Fa! La! La! La! La!…La! La! La! La!

Bravo! Bravo! To my Sixth Graders who gave a STELLAR PERFORMANCE last Monday night, in their interpretation of A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.  Everyone was SUPERB!  It was a joyous evening and a good time was had by all.  THANK YOU to my Seventh Graders, Stella Ferro and Annie Nugent, who sang carols and had parts in the play, too.  GREAT JOB!  THANK YOU to our Seventh Grade parents and students who came to the play to support the Sixth Graders.  I truly appreciate your support.  All other “THANK YOUS” are on the Sixth Grade page.

There is much excitement in the air with the approaching Christmas vacation and holidays.  Therefore, this week will be a little different from our usual class routine. There will be no Wordly Wise homework, as I would like to have the class time to discuss and explain more about writing a screenplay.   I also want my students to finish viewing Silas Marner by George Elliot and to start to watch To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, which is great for learning about camera angles in a screenplay.   This week in literature, my Seventh Graders will continue to read Inside the Walls of Troy by Clemence McLaren.

There will be a History Test of Chapter 17, on Thursday, December 17, which focuses on The Renaissance.  We will prepare for it in class.  Please encourage your child to study for this test. Thank you.  This week in history, we will watch documentaries about The Renaissance.

Reminders:

I will send  home a large envelopes with all the work from your child’s file on Wednesday (except the rewrites, which I keep to display on Maria Montessori Day).  Please sign the envelope and return it to me, on either Thursday or Friday, to assure me that you have seen the contents.  Many thanks!

The homework for this week is as follows:

  • Study for the History Test of Chapter 17, on Thursday, December 17.
  • There will be no homework for the Christmas break.

Happy, happy Christmas, that can win us back to the delusions of our childhood days, recall to the old man the pleasures of his youth, and transport the traveler back to his own fireside and quiet home!

~ Charles Dickens

I wish all my Seventh Grade families A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS and A HAPPY NEW YEAR!  You deserve a wonderful holiday.  Relax!  Enjoy!  Have lots of fun with your children!  Please keep my students safe this Christmas, as they are VERY PRECIOUS to me!  My love to all of you this Christmas.

Cheers,

Miss Susan 🙂

Categories