Posted by: aoifelove | December 12, 2015

Bravo! Bravo!

Dear Sixth Grade Parents and Students,

‘Tis the season to be jolly!  Fa!  La! La! La!La!…La! La! La! La!

BRAVO! BRAVO!  To all my Sixth Graders who gave a STELLAR PERFORMANCE last Monday night, in their interpretation of A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. Everyone was SUPERB!  It was a joyous evening, and a good time was had by all. Parents, you have very talented children, and I have the best job in the world.  It was so much fun to work with them in Drama Class.  I am so proud of them!  THANK YOU, Sixth Graders!  You make me smile!  🙂  THANK YOU to Nolan Briley (Tiny Tim), you were FABULOUS!  THANK YOU to Jenna Bell, Stella Ferro, and Annie Nugent, who sang the Christmas lovely carols for us.  THANK YOU to Dushawn Powell (Terrific sound), Linda Belhumeur (Great video), and to dear Miss Denise (Wonderful stagehand).  THANK YOU to all of the Sixth Grade parents who ran cues and lines with your children.  BRAVO!    THANK YOU  to Michelle Acosta, for the beautiful book (it is a treasure), the tower of chocolates, and the great collage of the play.  You are so thoughtful!

There is much excitement in the air with the approaching Christmas vacation and holidays.  Therefore, this week will be a little different from our usual class routine. During literature time, the Sixth Graders will continue to read Greek Gods and Heroes. However, they have asked to see the movie A Christmas Carol, so they will watch it between two days.  There is no Wordly Wise homework, as I want to have time to explain the next writing assignment “Write a Stage Play.”  Your child will learn how to write a stage play in class first, before I assign it for homework, in January. They will receive detailed guidelines for this project.  Despite this, I want my Sixth Graders to think about the plots for their plays during the Christmas break. I am very pleased with their “Plot Analysis/Outlines of Skellig.”  They did a great job! Well done, Sixth Graders!

My Sixth Graders  will have their first Literary Terms Test on Thursday, so please remind them to study for it.  Thank you.

This week in history, my Sixth Graders return to Chapter 4 of their history book, which focuses on the history of Egypt.

Reminder:

I will send home a large envelope with all the work from your child’s file, on Wednesday (except the rewrites, which I keep to display on Maria Montessori Day).  Please sign the envelope and return it to me, on either Thursday or Friday, to assure me that you have seen the contents.  Many thanks!

The homework for this week is as follows:

  • Study for the Literary Terms Test for Thursday.
  • Write all the definitions from Chapter 4 of the history book, into your history notebook.
  • If you owe me any rewrites or colored illustrations, please bring them in to me by Friday.

Happy, happy Christmas, that can win us back to the delusions of our childhood days, recall to the old man the pleasures of his youth, and transport the traveler back to his own fireside and quiet home!

 ~ Charles Dickens

I wish all my Sixth Grade families A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS and A HAPPY NEW YEAR!  You deserve a wonderful holiday. Relax! Enjoy!  Have lots of fun with your children!  Please keep my students safe this Christmas, as they are VERY PRECIOUS to me.  My love to all of you this Christmas.

Cheers,

Miss Susan 🙂

Categories