Posted by: aoifelove | September 19, 2014

Student Council Campaign Week!

Dear Seventh Grade Parents and Students,

THANK YOU for the lovely birthday cards, stunning earrings, Celtic Knot scent diffuser, Starbucks cards, the great “Raven” box, delicious cake, colorful balloons, the lovely rose, and wonderful classroom decorations that you gave to me for my birthday on Thursday.  I was surprised and thrilled when I walked into my classroom.  You made my birthday feel very special.  Thank you!

The Seventh Graders scored very high on both their Wordly Wise homework and spelling/vocabulary test this week.  I am so proud of them!  I am happy to report that they are enjoying Beowulf by Robert Nye.  Yahoo! This past week, I added a grammar workbook to their classroom workbooks.  The first writing assignment “Write a Myth or Legend” is due on Tuesday, September 30.  I distributed detailed guidelines for this assignment, this past week.

The first history test will take place on Tuesday, September 23.  I have cancelled this week’s Wordly Wise homework to allow the Seventh Graders time to study for their History Test, and because they also have a Science Test with Miss Lida, this coming week.  Please encourage your children to study for both tests.  Many thanks!

This week in history, we will start reading about European Feudalism.

Reminder: This coming week is Campaign Week for the Student Council.  Students who are running for a position on the Student Council will deliver their speeches in the Serra Center on Monday afternoon at 1:45 p.m.  Good luck to all the candidates!

The following is the homework for this coming week:

  • Study for the history test on Tuesday, September 23
  • Work on your rough draft for your Myth/Legend writing assignment.

A little knowledge that acts is worth infinitely more than much knowledge that is idle. ~ Khalil Gibran

Enjoy your weekend and have a GRAND week ahead!

Cheers,

Miss Susan

Categories