Posted by: aoifelove | April 5, 2014

April Showers Bring May Flowers!

Dear Eighth Grade Parents and Students,

On Friday, March 28, Nicole Halle (Noelle’s mom) made a beautiful arch of balloons for the Student Council Dance, and in my “Thank You’s,” to my parent body, in my last blog, I named her as “Noelle,” instead of “Nicole.”  I apologize for this mistake, Nicole, and THANK YOU for the lovely decorations.  GREAT JOB!

This week in literature, my Eighth Graders will continue to read The Odyssey, and follow Odysseus, as he gets into more trouble on his way home to Ithaca.  In addition to this, they will work on finishing their presentations on  “Big Ideas,” for Friday, April 11.  All Eighth Grade parents are welcome to attend these presentations, which will begin at 9:00 a.m. in Room 218.  I have deferred the spelling/vocabulary review test for this week, in order to give my Eighth Graders time to prepare for their presentations.  My Eighth Graders have finished their weekly Wordly Wise workbooks, so I have sent home their grammar book, Rules of the Game, which is now their weekly homework .  Each week, I will assign five pages for homework, unless a student is behind in this work, then, I will assign seven pages for homework.

There will be a History Test of Chapter 6, on Thursday, April 10.  Please encourage your teenager to study for this test.  Many thanks!

This past week in Family Life, we had interesting discussions about “The Dating Game.”  This included discussions regarding respect for oneself, others, and one’s family’s rules.  This week in Family Life, the Eighth Graders will read about real love, marriage, and the family.

The rehearsals for The Passion are going very well.  I hope that you will all attend the reenactment of The Passion, by our amazing Eighth Graders, in the Serra Center, at noon, on Good Friday, April 18.  Please mark your calendars.  Thank you.

The homework for this week is as follows:

  • Study for the History Test of Chapter 6, on Thursday, April 10.
  • Finish your project on “Big Ideas,” for Friday’s presentations.

Children are human beings to respect id due, superior to us by reason of their innocence, and of the greater possibilities of their future.                      ~ Maria Montessori

Enjoy your weekend and have a grand week ahead.

Cheers,

Miss Susan

 

Categories