Posted by: aoifelove | September 28, 2013

Congratulations!

Dear Sixth Grade Parents and Students,

Congratulations to all the students who ran for Student Council last Monday.  Your speeches were great!  I am so proud of you!  Well done! The results of the election will be announced on Monday, September 30, during the school assembly at 10:00a.m. in the Serra Center.

This past week, I had very little time with my Sixth Graders, due to Monday’s school assembly and the school photographs on Tuesday and Thursday.  Hence, I did not accomplish all that I had intended.  No worries, we will catch up on our work this week.  I look forward to reading their fables.  The ones that I have read so far are great.  I will return the corrected fables to my Sixth Graders by the end of this coming week, and they will make their corrections to them, and return the rewrites to me, with the copy of my corrections.  A colored illustration of the fable is due with the rewrite.

This coming week, we will start our poetry unit.  We will begin with “The Highwayman” by Alfred Noyes.  It is a wonderful narrative poem about true love.  The next writing assignment for my Sixth Graders will be, “Write a Narrative Poem.”  They will receive guidelines for this exercise next week.  In addition to this, we will continue the reading of Skellig and the work in the grammar and analogies workbooks.

The first History Test is scheduled for Thursday, October 3.  The Sixth Graders know the definitions and questions that they have to learn from Chapter 1 of their history books.  I know there is a lot on the Sixth Graders’ plates at the moment, but don’t worry, they will adapt to Middle School in good time.  I am cancelling the Wordly Wise homework for this week, in order to give them time to study for the History Test, as three tests in one week would not be conducive to success.  There is also a Science Test this week.  Please encourage your child to study for both tests.

The following is the homework for this coming week:

  • Study the history definitions for the History Test on Thursday.
  • Study the history questions for the History Test on Thursday.
  • Some students need to turn in their “Write a Fable” homework.

One must learn by doing the thing, for though you think you know it, you have no certainty until you try.   ~ Aristotle

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a GRAND week ahead!

Cheers,

Miss Susan

Categories