Posted by: aoifelove | June 9, 2013

Graduation Week! Yahoo!

Dear Eighth Grade Parents and Students,

Graduation is finally here, and it is with a heavy heart that I must say “Goodbye” to my precious Eighth Graders.  This past school year has gone by so fast, it is hard to believe that my Eighth Graders will be graduating on Tuesday evening, and leaving O.M.M.S. this week.  The cliche, “Time flies when you’re having fun,” is true.  It has been a very happy, inspiring, and productive year with my Eighth Graders.  They have worked extremely hard and have learned much in all their classes, and you should be very proud of them.  They have been OUTSTANDING STUDENTS and EXCELLENT ROLE MODELS!  I will miss them all very much next year, especially, their smiling faces and their good cheer every morning.  They are a very SPECIAL GROUP!  THANK YOU for entrusting me (and my partners) with their education.  It has been a great pleasure to educate, know, and love them.   They are a huge part of my life!

THANK YOU to my homeroom moms: Marge Ontiveros and Laura Visco.  You have done AMAZING work in organizing the Graduation.   THANK YOU to all my Eighth Grade parents for helping Marge and Laura in the various tasks that were assigned to you for the Graduation.  I know that Tuesday evening will be a very special event in your child’s life.  I truly appreciate all that you have done this past school year.  MANY, MANY  THANKS!

Congratulations to the Eighth Graders who gave a SUPERB performance in Shakespeare’s play A Midsummer Night’s Dream, last Monday evening.  Great job: Carlos, Chris, Kate, Lauren, Matilda, and Xavier.  You were highly entertaining and extremely funny.  THANK YOU!

Congratulations to all my Eighth Graders on the presentation and delivery of your speeches on Speech Night, last Wednesday evening.  You all did a GREAT JOB!  I am so very proud of you.  THANK YOU to all our parents and siblings who supported my Eighth Graders on Speech Night.  It was a long evening, but I hope that you found the experience worthwhile for your child.

I will be sending home the second packet of work from your children’s files, on Monday.  Please sign the envelope and return it to me on Tuesday, so I know that you have received it.  If nothing else, please keep their Pride and Prejudice Projects, the Career Projects, The Odyssey workbooks, and the Wordly Wise workbooks, as they might come in handy in high school.  Most of the vocabulary in the Wordly Wise will be on the SAT test in their Junior Year.  Some students have a little work left to do in their workbooks.  I want them to finish it in August.  Right now, their brains need a BREAK from school work.  However, I highly recommend that they read for pleasure during the summer months, as it is the best aerobics for their brains.

The schedule for this week is as follows:

Monday:  The Awards Ceremony at 10:00a.m. in the Serra Center.  All are welcome to attend.

Anthony Brillo will take photos of the Eighth Graders on Monday afternoon, starting at 1:30p.m.

The boys need to bring shirts and ties on a hanger, as requested by Anthony Brillo.

Tuesday:  The Eighth Grade breakfast will commence at 9:00a.m.

Rehearsal for the Graduation Ceremony will commence at 10:15a.m. in the chapel.

The final ‘Walk Out” for the Eighth Graders will commence at 2:45p.m. from Room 218.

The Graduation Ceremony commences at 7:00p.m. in the chapel.

This will be followed by a dinner in the dining room for the Graduates and their families and friends.

Wednesday:   DISNEYLAND!  I will go over the rules for Disneyland with my students on Tuesday.

Graduates are required to be at O.M.M.S. at 8:15a.m.  We will depart at 8:30a.m. sharp.

We will return at Midnight approximately.  The Graduates will call their parents when we get onto I5.

It takes one hour to return to O.M.M.S.

THANK YOU to our drivers: Jessica Macias, Donna Snaer-Williams, and Laura Visco.

Thursday:      NO SCHOOL!

Friday:          All Graduates are welcome to come to school on Friday morning.

The “Baby Photos” will be returned on Friday, otherwise, you can pick them up from my cubby during Christmas in July.

There will be a Prayer Service at 11:00a.m.   Dismissal will be at 12:30p.m.

Wherever you go, go with all your heart!  ~ Confucius

If you have any questions about this week, please do not hesitate to contact me.  Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a GRAND week ahead!

Love,

Miss Susan

Categories