Posted by: aoifelove | April 6, 2013

WELCOME BACK TO SCHOOL!

Dear Seventh Grade Parents and Students,

I hope that you all had a wonderful Easter celebration, and that you are enjoying the last days of our spring break.  Parents, you should have received the Interim Reports by now, and you must have noticed that my report was not included in your envelope.  The reports are sitting on my desk at school.  I was delayed in getting them to the office, and when I brought them down at lunch time on Good Friday, the reports had already been mailed.  Therefore, they will go home this week.  I apologize and accept full responsibility for this error.

Grace Fairlie, great job on your performance in The Passion on Good Friday.

I am very happy to report that I am THRILLED with the Seventh Graders’ Magazine Projects.  They are very creative, stylish, informative, and entertaining to read.  Well done, Seventh Graders!  Yes, I am DAZZLED!

This coming week in literature, we will resume reading The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde, and perfect the haughty English accent.  In addition to this, I will continue to read aloud more children’s stories written by Oscar Wilde.  My Seventh Graders were touched by The Nightingale and the Rose and The Selfish Giant.  The cursive writing assignment will also resume on Monday night (two pages per night, Monday through Friday).

The next Review Spelling/Vocabulary Test  of Lessons 3 and 4 in Wordly Wise, will take place on Thursday, April 18.  We will also continue our vocabulary study with Greek and Roman root words.  There is a Literary Terms Test on Friday, April 12 (p.17).  Please encourage your child to study for it.  Many thanks!

This week in history, we will prepare for the History Test of Chapter 9, which is scheduled for Tuesday, April 16.  Then, we will finish reading Chapter 10, which focuses on the history of China.

Reminders: 1. Maria Montessori Day/Shadow Day is scheduled for Friday, April 19.  Please attend if possible, as it will mean a lot to your child.  2. I will be sending home the work from your child’s file on Monday, as the filing cabinet is full.  Please sign the envelope and return it to me, as an assurance that you have received it.  Thank you!

The following is the homework for this coming week:

  • Two pages of cursive per night.
  • Study for the Literary Terms Test on Friday.
  • Study for the History Test on Tuesday, April 16.
  • Study the review spelling/vocabulary of Lessons 3 and 4 in Wordly Wise, for Thursday, April 18.

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams.  Live the life you have imagined.  ~ Henry David Thoreau

Enjoy the rest of your spring break and have a GRAND week ahead.  I look forward to seeing my “Muffins” on Monday.

Sincerely,

Miss Susan

Categories