Posted by: aoifelove | February 16, 2013

HAPPY PRESIDENTS’ WEEKEND!

Dear Sixth Grade Parents and Students,

THANK YOU all for the numerous gifts of lovely cards, delicious chocolates, sweet-smelling roses, luscious lotion, and beautiful stationary that you gave to me for St. Valentine’s Day.  You made me feel very loved and special.  THANK YOU!  I hope that you all had a wonderful day, too.

This past week, I discovered that my O.M.M.S. e-mail is not working.  I believe that a new e-mail account is already set up for the teachers through our website, but there are some gliches that need to be ironed out, yet.  I will have a new e-mail account for you next week.  I apologize for any inconvenience.

This week in literature, we will finish Greek Gods and Heroes by Robert Graves.  We will read the following: “The Hunt of the Calydonian Bear,” “The Beef-Eating Contest,” “The Seven Against Thebes,” and “The End of the Olympians.”  This past week, I missed two days with my Sixth Grade class, due to an Eighth Grade field trip on Tuesday and Ash Wednesday’s mass.  Therefore, I have cancelled the Wordly Wise homework for this coming week, as we are only in school for three days.  I want to catch up with the daily curriculum, so, Lesson 16 of Wordly Wise homework is not due until Wednesday, February 27.  The next writing assignment is “Write a Children’s Book.”  I will distribute and discuss the guidelines with my Sixth Graders on Tuesday.  The Stage Plays will be returned for correction this coming week.

The majority of the Sixth Graders scored very high on the History Test last Tuesday.  Well done, Sixth Graders!  The development of their memories for large amounts of information is right on track.  This week in history, we will finish reading Chapter 7, which focuses on Hinduism.

From now onwards, all make-up tests, due to absences, will be given during the lunch hour, in order to avoid wasting lecture/lesson time in class.

Reminder: There is no school next Friday, February 22, as the teachers must attend the annual Religious Congress.

The following is the homework for this coming week:

  • Write up all the history definitions and questions in Chapter 7 into the history notebook.
  • Study spelling/vocabulary in Lesson 16 of Wordly Wise for February 27.
  • Complete all the exercises in Lesson 16 of Wordly Wise for February 27.
  • Write fifteen sentences using your vocabulary words from Lesson 16 for February 27.
  • Think of a plot for your next writing project, “Write a Children’s Book.”

Ever has it been that love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation.

~ Kahlil Gibran

Enjoy your weekend and have a GRAND week ahead.

Sincerely,

Miss Susan

Categories