Posted by: aoifelove | December 2, 2012

Dear Eighth Grade Parents,

The Eighth Graders continue to read and enjoy The Odyssey.  Odysseus has landed on Calypso’s island.  We finished watching Julius Caesar by William Shakespeare, and will continue our discussion of it this week.  Many Eighth Graders have finished their Life Skills workbooks and their Punctuation workbooks.  GREAT!  Please guide your child in procuring three professionals to interview for the Career Project.  If you need advice, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I have asked my Eighth Graders to go to the movie, Lincoln directed by Stephen Spielberg (PG-13), as a requirement for their history class.  It is BRILLIANT and well worth viewing.  You may want to see it yourselves?  I highly recommend it!  There is a History Test of Chapter 4 on Wednesday, December 12.  Please encourage your child to study for the test.

Reminder:  We will be gathering donations again for a Christmas dinner for our designated family.  In addition to this, you are asked to donate one Christmas gift for a member of the family.  On Monday, I will ask my Eighth Graders to sign up for an item of food and a gift for one of the children or one of the parents, and I will send the list home to Marge and Laura.  The deadline for this will be Thursday, December 20.  Thank you in advance for your generosity.

The following is the homework for this coming week:

  • Spelling/vocabulary test of Lesson 11 in Wordly Wise on Friday.
  • Complete all the exercises in Lesson 11 of Wordly Wise for Friday.
  • Write a detailed summary of Career 3 for Friday.
  • Study for the History Test on December 12.

I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand. 

~ Chinese Proverb.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a GRAND week ahead!

Sincerely,

Miss Susan

Categories