Posted by: aoifelove | December 2, 2012

Dear Seventh Grade Parents,

We continue to read Inside the Walls of Troy by Clarence McLaren.  I am happy to report that the books are finally in at Barnes and Noble, so I will pick them up after school on Monday evening.  The next writing assignment is “Write a Screenplay.”  The Seventh Graders have been learning how to write a screenplay in class.  The due date is Thursday, December 20.  We finished watching To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee, which had a big impact on my students.  There are so many powerful and important messages in it, we will continue our discussion of it this week.

We finished Chapter 4 of the history book, which focused on the Islamic World.  There is a History Test on Wednesday, December 5, so please encourage your child to study for it.  This will be the last History Test before Christmas.  Please discourage your child from cramming for tests, as the knowledge doesn’t go into his/her long term memory.  It is much better to study a section per night.  I have discussed study skills and procedures with your child.

The following is the homework for this coming week:

  • Study for History Test of Chapter 4 on Wednesday, December 5.
  • Spelling/vocabulary test of Lesson 12 in Wordly Wise on Thursday.
  • Complete all the exercises of Lesson 12 in Wordly Wise for Thursday.
  • Work on writing the screenplay.

I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand. ~ Chinese Proverb

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a GRAND week ahead!

Sincerely,

Miss Susan

Categories